Realistic Fantasy is an Oxymoron

file
A few days ago, I was talking with a friend of mine who consumes fantasy novels at a rate I would not have guessed was possible had I not been witnessing it for twenty-one years.
“I want to write a story about Elves,” I said.
She was shocked. “You can’t do that,” she said. When I asked why, she began a lecture on how such concepts are outdated and that fantasy has “evolved” past that. She took it so seriously, that I felt I had to address it.
Anyone who has scoured the internet for even the slightest of genre advice knows that there is a lot of information regarding clichés and what to avoid so a writer can know what to do in order to please readers. Seriously. There are a lot of these..
The subtitle of this article is an inversion of this, which is that prompted me to throw my hat in the ring regarding Grimdark Fantasy—the idea that realism in fantasy is better—an inherently ridiculous statement.
Many disagree.
Grimdark fantasy authors are seen as the evolution of modern fantasy writing. They boast characters of gray morality and ambiguous sides. But what I have read seems little better than something in the vein of The Sword of Shannara or The Iron Tower trilogy. Except now, up-and-coming writers are using George R. R. Martin as their springboard instead of J.R.R Tolkien.
What separates Mark Lawrence from the often-maligned Terry Brooks and his Lord of the Rings ripoff, The Sword of Shannara?
Lawrence used George R. R. Martin as his jumping off point as much as Brooks used Tolkien. Both Lawrence and Brooks took the basic plot of the bestselling fantasy saga of their, both both simplified the core elements of the respective books and both of them used a post-apocalyptic setting to make it sufficiently different.
I am being tongue-in-cheek, here. Brooks infamously copied scenes wholesale for The Sword of Shannara and changed the mildest of details. Lawrence only borrows from Martin in broad swaths. I draw these comparisons only to further a point which will be illuminated below.
Ultimately, them being better at hiding the fact that they are taking as much influence from Martin as they are that does not change the fact that these books are as much Martin Clones as any given book with Elves is a Tolkien Clone.
But the reason Martin Clones are taken so seriously while Tolkien Clones are not is because they write a much more serious form of fantasy. Grimdark is grown-up fiction. Serious fiction. Yet even the concept of grey morality is laughable in many of these ripoffs. There is no black-and-white morality. Only black-and-blacker.
Many people praise Martin Clones because of their how seriously they take themselves. No fun allowed, this is serious fantasy. It’s like in the early 2000s when every superhero film had to be extra dark because people still saw comic books as kids’ stuff.
But Tolkien never attempted to be realistic. Tolkien approached his works with an aim to mythify a history for England. Read The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle and come back to me about how seriously it takes its battle tactics.
Does realism make a story inherently better? You can find the answer to that in the follow up: The Problem with Serious Fiction

Author: Connor M. Perry

From an early age, I learned how to divide by four. See, two minutes after I was born, I discovered three other newborns hot on my heels. I was a quadruplet. And I needed to learn to how to share. Everything. At an early age, I took to writing so that I could have something unsharable. I began writing small stories online for my own enjoyment, and gradually moved to more ambitious ideas. I've been running my blog The Mythlings for two years now, publishing a new installment every Friday. I've enjoyed creating different worlds, characters and relationships in my stories. I currently live in Worcester, MA with my girlfriend, two cats, and a collection of swords.

One thought on “Realistic Fantasy is an Oxymoron”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s